Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Skating Fun!

on September 16, 2008

Tonight was a skating party for Elizabeth’s Elementary School. We decided to go as a family. Vincent slept in his stroller the whole time. He only woke up as I put him back into the car. Elizabeth and Olivia slowly got the hang of skating, I think. Only practice makes them better, so I guess we’ll need to go again. Andy started out with them in roller skates and him too. Our friends told us how much easier it is if we wear tennis shoes and then we are steady for the kids to learn. I liked that. Most of the parents had regular shoes on too. We left Vincent under the table by our friends and took the girls out. Olivia is pretty naturally graceful and easy to stay up, but Elizabeth is a little jerky and tries to just hang on to the side the whole time. I wouldn’t let her. My friend told me that I’m making her grow up too fast, but I was thinking that the faster she learns, the less I have to walk laps with her and the more fun she’ll have too. Elizabeth was pretty excited to try it out and even looked at the camera, so she could go. Also, I tried a bunch today to make her wear an outfit that matched and she just wouldn’t do it. Not my fault!
Olivia was all set to go too and kept trying to go without us.
Sorry this picture of Andy with the girls is blurry. I forgot to set the camera on Party mode which makes the lighting better and catches the picture better too.

Me and Elizabeth. I guess that shirt’s not too flattering. Hmm.

That capped our evening off. This morning I slept in because Vincent kept waking up last night, like every hour until 5am (which is also why I’m up now) and so I got up late and then walked Elizabeth to the school after a popcorn breakfast/lunch. Then Olivia and Vincent and I continued a block to the church to help tye quilts for Humanitarian Aid. They were almost done already because they started at 9:30am and were going to go until 3pm, but finished by 1pm. I added a couple of stitches and then one of the ladies asked if anyone wanted to go on a boat ride. We didn’t have anything to do for a few hours, so we hurried home, changed into river shoes and drove over. Olivia and Vincent both got their first boat rides today. At least I don’t remember Olivia ever going before…. They did very well. It was a lot of fun. Too bad I left my camera at home. After that, we stopped by Zip’s and got Cheeseburgers to eat while we waited for Elizabeth (and a black raspberry shake for me, Yumm!) and gave her one too when she got out of class. We had a pretty good day.

Also, while looking online at Halloween costume pictures last weekend, I found what I want to be and our family will have a theme. The cat was let out of the bag at dinner on Sunday by Olivia, so I guess I can let the cat out a bit more. We are going as……Nintendo characters. I will be Daisy, Andy will be Luigi, Elizabeth wants to be Pink Toadette, Olivia wants to be Peach, and Vincent will be Baby Toad. Unless of course I come up with something better for characters.

10 responses to “Skating Fun!

  1. Kelsey says:

    Looks like skating was enjoyed very much by the whole family. I loved to go roller skating! One night before family pictures we went and I had one of my front teeth knocked out by my moms friend and her roller skate in a crash. I was in kindergarten at the time so we had my tooth glued to the other by our family dentist who was so kind to squeeze us in so I wouldn’t be missing a tooth during our family pictures!Your halloween costumes are so creative! I love it!

  2. skating looked like fun!! you’ll probably just get more and more busy now that elizabeth is in school. so did you guys just ride the boat? no one got in the water? i haven’t been on a boat in a long time… that would be fun!

  3. janaemadsen says:

    how fun-we are driving back and Danielle and John flew (from Salt Lake) I like the Halloween costumes but I can’t help but wish there was a Bowser

  4. Hawks Family says:

    Your halloween cosrumes rock! I love skating, it looks like a lot of fun…I updated my blog just for you!

  5. I like the costume ideas! And I dont’ think making her try to skate is making her grow up too fast… she is in kindergarten you know! Looks like you’re having fun though!

  6. Alissa says:

    Looks like fun! How do you find the time and energy to do ALL that you do? I’m quite impressed!

  7. That’s funny you chose Nintendo characters-I love that idea! Matt and I just downloaded all the old Mario games onto our Wii and we’re addicted.I also enjoy hearing how different your kids are from each other. It’s hard enough for me to try to figure one out-you do a great job with all three!I did get the fun camo stuff you made. I absolutely loved it and have it in his room. It fits perfectly. Thank you so much; I meant to get a “thank you” note out to you, so sorry for the slacking! I look forward to following each other’s blogs.

  8. Carrie says:

    NaDell,I’m glad you found me! I love catching up with people on their blogs, too. We just moved back to the Tri-Cities, so I’m going to catch up with all my blog reading as soon as we get internet hooked up. I can’t wait to see whatt you’ve been up to.

  9. Monica says:

    Hiya NaDell-Yes, pictures are the best :)We need to get to town soon, huh? We don’t have any plans yet, but we’ll let you know. We are in town for Christmas this year…Skating looks like great fun…

  10. Cali says:

    Nadell, thanks for the comment! You are very correct, it is always nice to have a reminder about how blessed we are (I mean, sad that I needed to have a reminder, but a good thing too). I think your kids have a great mom!!

What do you think?

