Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Universal Remote Kicks Butt!!

on February 27, 2009


Andy says:

I just finished setting up my new Universal Remote, it’s great! You might be saying to yourself, “I’ve had those before, they stink!” I agree, the old ones usually didn’t work that great. The manual had a list of TVs and VCRs with a little code next to each model, and maybe the stuff you owned was on the list and maybe it wasn’t. You had a model 8245 Hitachi TV, but the list only had 8240 and 8250, so you had to pick one code, and the universal remote could change the TV’s channel or adjust the volume, but not both. And even if the thing worked OK, as soon as you bought something new, it became useless, because there was naturally no code in the manual for a brand new VCR, assuming you hadn’t lost the manual.

Well, those days are over. I just got a Logitech Universal Remote, and it works like a champ. It has a USB port, and you use software to configure it. It even has a sensor that let’s you aim the existing remote at it, push a button, and the new remote will learn the signal and copy it. It took me about an hour to set it up, and now I can set aside five (5) remote controls that were sitting on top of my TV set (TV, VCR, DVD, HD receiver, Stereo).

The only drawback is that they aren’t cheap. The one I have cost about $150, (my dad bought two, and gave one to me in return for help when he builds his cabin later this year, NaDell says ‘slave labor’, but it is my inheritance after-all). It’s a mid range one, the top-of-the-line $400 unit looks like a tricorder from Star Trek, and is capable of controlling your whole house.

Anyway, I highly recommend getting one of these.

NaDell says: Now I get to figure out how to work it too. I’m sure it won’t be as annoying as the
aforementioned FIVE remotes.

Well, I’ve had the thing for a day now, and it still works fine, but I’ve got a little more fine-tuning to do. NaDell didn’t like it when she started recording a show with the VCR and then I switched to the DVD player and the VCR stopped recording. You have to expect these minor setbacks when you’re trying something new. Pioneers take the arrows, you know.

2 responses to “Universal Remote Kicks Butt!!

  1. Kelsey says:

    Looks like a mini. Two heads are better than one… but one remote is way better than 5!

  2. Andy, Scott and I think you need the Crestron. Look into that for the next part of your inheritance. Why skimp? Don’t you think your children deserve the best?

What do you think?

