Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Favorite Things

on April 29, 2009

Here are some pictures of our favorite things:

My favorites lately:

My lilacs that were sticks a few years ago (I planted them two years ago-so it’s their third season) are blooming like crazy. Last year I just had a lot of leaves and only two blooms. So excited! I love them!
I’ve been making this recipe for cookies that uses white beans in the place of butter. This is my second time. They are SO good. They also use whole wheat and hardly any sugar. That’s about the healthiest cookie there is!
My garden is planted. I made three rows of corn this year and Andy is SO anticipating eating it. So are the girls. We love corn! I also planted 12 regular tomato plants and nine cherry tomatoes. Cucumbers, yellow and green squash, watermelon, and lettuce. YUM! Now I just need to keep up on the weeding of the garden. I’ve decided that each Monday, I’ll have to do it.
The trees are budding out. The same kind of tree is right next to this one and has been all open for a week or two. This one is a little slow. The sky is beautiful today between the rain.
The strawberries are getting ready in the garden. Elizabeth is most excited for that. She eats them all!
Elizabeth’s favorite thing lately is doing crafts. She brought home a reminder from school today that next week is Teacher Appreciation Week, so she wanted to make something for her teacher today. She made a dolphin shaped “iron bead” project. She gives them away as coasters. (The dolphin shape came in a set and it had a picture of one all made. She didn’t make it up. FYI) She tells us that she wants to be an artist when she grows up. But, when we were pointing out to her that some artists draw pictures for books, she told us that’s not the kind of artist she wants to be. Maybe if she writes her own stories…
One of Olivia’s favorite things to do is copy Elizabeth, so after school, Olivia made a doggie “iron bead” project. Olivia’s is a rainbow one.
Vincent’s number one thing that he likes to do is definitely, without equivocation, EAT! He’s like a little puppy. Constantly mooching and begging for food. Yes, we feed him. He drinks a half a gallon of milk a day (or close to that)! He’s really only ever sad when he’s poopy or hungry.

10 responses to “Favorite Things

  1. looks like you guys are doing well!!! how fun to do all those fun crafts and have such a big garden!!! i want to do that someday!

  2. Cali says:

    Neat tree!! I want the cookie recipe. :)

  3. Mary says:

    I saw some blossoms on my Strawberries too. YEA, That means they’ll be right on time for Memorial Day Strawberry shortcake. Our corn and Beans are up that dad planted. I’ll have to go out and take a picture, if it ever stops raining…

  4. Kelsey says:

    I love the new look of your blog! Cute! Your lilacs are so beautiful! So jealous!

  5. Are you kidding me? We still can’t plant our garden for like another three weeks or so. Our lilacs are barely getting leaves! I love spring though, when things finally do bloom. Vincent- you little monster! Christopher used to go through that much milk, til we finally took his bottles away for good! (I know, Vincent already uses sippies right?) Tell the girls I said Hi! I like their crafts!

  6. C.Family says:

    You have been busy! I am jealous of your garden. We don’t have the yard space for one. I am think of doing a garden box, but we will see. I guess we should get busy on that.

  7. Chief Momma says:

    You are a busy Mom, holy smokes! Way to go on the garden. We live in a townhome, so we’ll have to borrow from my parents this year.

  8. Jenks Jive says:

    Spring is great. I love lilacs too. It is so nice to enjoy all the outdoor things again after the cold winter.

  9. NaDell says:

    Kori (and anyone else), if the garden grows like it should, I’ll have plenty to spare. I’ll let you know when I have an abundance. =)

  10. I love this post NaDell! You are so great! Good job with your garden! I downloaded the cookie recipe I will have to try it. Sounds yummy!

What do you think?

