Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Parking Lot Incident

on July 3, 2009

So, we went to WalMart today after swimming lessons and returned something, got all our groceries, and found the Kool-Aid man to get a picture with him. We were probably in there about an hour, maybe a few minutes more. We got back out to the parking lot and there is a cop car sitting behind the car I’m in front of. He asked me (as I was putting groceries in) if that was my vehicle and told me that I had bumped into this other car when I parked. He told me that he had paged me in WalMart three or four times and I told him I didn’t hear that (who can hear any of the paging in stores anyway, and especially with three kids?). The policeman didn’t seem like this was a big deal. I gave him my license, registration, and insurance and then he went back to talk to the guy who apparently freaked out and called the cops because our license plates were touching when he came out of the store and HAD to have the cop make a little record of it while my kids waited in the van for 15 minutes. Elizabeth kept asking me if he was going to take me to jail and complained of being thirsty. No kidding, it’s like 1pm in July. I think he waited for me to come out of the store for a good 40 minutes for nothing. No ticket, the record just says that nothing happened and no damage was done and has our car information on it. Is that worth wasting 1 hour in July?
Anyway, here’s a picture of my kids with the Kool-Aid man.

5 responses to “Parking Lot Incident

  1. Alissa says:

    SERIOUSLY? Come on…some people just don't handle the heat well, apparently! Glad there was no trouble, just a hassle.

  2. Chief Momma says:

    What a joke….seriously that would be annoying!

  3. What an idiot…I can't believe some people. Cute picture of the kids.

  4. Mary says:

    Too bad the man had to waste your time and the policeman's too. A slow crime day in Richland? They didn't have criminals to take care of?? Cute kids as always!

  5. Diane Aland says:

    Oh my goodness. That sounds like something that would happen to me. People like that are the reason I avoid the public!

What do you think?

