Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Best Day!

on October 23, 2009

Today was easily the best day of the week.
I made muffins for breakfast and showered before Elizabeth went to school.
She was able to take her umbrella with her which always makes her happy. It was raining a lot today.
I decided that we would go into the school after the rain stopped or slowed down so we didn’t go until a half hour before school got out.
So, we came home to watch PBS kids and I cross-stitched while listening to the radio.
Then I took a two hour nap. NICE!
Lunchtime. I made a salad and tried out a new dressing. I didn’t like the dressing much, but ate the whole salad anyway. Trying to not eat so badly all the time…and I haven’t made cookies for a few weeks. I really wanted to though. Next week I will, but only because I’ll make some for our Adult Halloween Costume Party on Friday night next week. If you’re reading this, you’re invited!
Woke Vincent up to go help at the school and help Elizabeth’s teacher. On Fridays I staple things and help her get set for the next week. Not hard and I just did it in the hallway with Olivia and Vincent “helping”. Olivia was trying really hard to read things and did the counting pages really well.

It’s officially fall now. I’m glad that the week of wintertime weather disappeared for a while and I can now appreciate the cool weather. I love watching our trees change in the front yard and finally had a minute today to notice that our trees are now YELLOW! Beautiful. The wind was whipping it around though and there is a perfect little circle of fallen yellow leaves around the tree. Came home and started popcorn and a movie. We watched Wall-E because it is due back to the library soonest. Then, because I was feeling lazy and enjoying Friday afternoon movies, we put in Gordy too. I had never watched it before. Now I know why. At least they were just movies from the library and I didn’t pay anything for them.
When Andy got home, the movie was just ending and we still had an hour or so before dinner so I took another little nap. My eyes have just been so tired lately!
Andy made some tater tots and our buddy, Nathan, came over to babysit the kids while Andy and I went to the Temple. It was so nice.
When we got home, we put the kids to bed and I read the second half of a great book. I found two new favorite quotes (Sorry if you get everything I update with them.)
“I don’t know how losin’ your pup is for your good, Josh, but I am sure that it can be or God wouldn’t have let it happen. It’s all up to you, Josh. Whenever something comes into our life that hurts us, we do the decidin’-do I let this work for my good, as God intended, or do I let bitterness grow like a bothersome canker sore in my soul?”
“It’s true that things happen in life that seem wrong and are painful, but it isn’t because God likes to see us suffer. He wants us to grow. He wants us to love Him, to trust Him.”
-Once Upon a Summer (Seasons of the Heart Series) by Janette Oke
I can’t wait to read the next three books! It’s too late to start the next one now, so I’m doing this instead.
I had a great day and a night and tomorrow doesn’t have much on the schedule, just Nutcracker practice for a few hours for Andy and a baptism for a man in our ward and collecting the last of the Halloween costumes, so I’m looking forward to a little more downtime with my cross-stitch and book. Too bad I can’t do them both at the same time.
Thursday night we attended my sister-in-law’s mother’s funeral. It was a very nice service. My brother gave the life sketch, my dad gave a talk about families, my sister-in-law’s good friend sang “I Know that My Redeemer Lives”, and my amazingly wonderful and strong sister-in-law gave a little talk too. It was so sad. Her mother fought a three year battle with cancer courageously. It made me happy to hear all the great things that were said about families. I believe in families. I love mine. Take some time to appreciate yours.
While you’re at it, watch this video of Olivia tap dancing in the hallway waiting for her tap/ballet class on Tuesday. She slipped down a few times before this very cutely, so I was a tiny bit disappointed that she was solid on this one. Still, very cute. She’s got her own little beat going and always has.

3 responses to “Best Day!

  1. Mary says:

    Glad you're enjoying the Books. I thought there were only 3 in the big book I loaned you. Olivia dancing is cute. She likes to twirl…Did Nathan have fun babysitting??

  2. NaDell says:

    Nathan likes to babysit for us. We like it too because we don't pay him and then after we put the kids to bed he hangs out to play games. The kids love to play games with him and watch movies with him and they are so used to him being here for our game nights that it's nothing new to them. We just make sure Vincent has a fresh diaper so he hopefully doesn't even have to change him (he's not used to that.)

  3. NaDell–Thanks for your WONDERFUL day. I enjoyed reading it. Can i borrow the book when you are done? It sounds like I could use the advice from it at times. Thanks again for your WONDERFUL day!

What do you think?

