Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Tooth Fairy

on November 17, 2009

For lack of a more creative title…
Elizabeth lost her first tooth today at school. My mom pointed out that it was the first one that she got as a baby too.She came home with her tooth in a bag and was SO excited. This tooth has been loose for a month or something, but she wanted to let it come out on it’s own and didn’t want it to hurt.
It didn’t really bleed or anything in class (only a “teeny tiny bit”) and she lost it during sharing time in her class.
When she got home she wanted to write the tooth fairy a poem, so I wrote it while she said it and then she rewrote it to give to the tooth fairy. I had her read it on video too.

Here is her poem:

To the Tooth Fairy
By Elizabeth Ransom
Blue as a flower
Purple as a violet
Red as a rose
Green as a leaf
Rainbow as a rainbow
Orange as a carrot
Tooth Fairies are nice.

Oops. Just rewatched and noticed that she left out the “red as a rose” part and the tooth fairies are nice part too. Oh well. Creative liberties, right?

A month or so ago she borrowed a book from the school’s library titled, “Dad Are You the Tooth Fairy?” by Jason Alexander. I just said that’s nice and put it back into her backpack and then after the kids went to bed Andy and I read it. It gave away the WHOLE story. It was a terrible book, especially for a kid who hasn’t even lost one tooth. The next morning, I took the book back to the school and found a different (much more acceptable!) book titled, “Tooth Fairy”. It was cute and funny and didn’t spoil the fun!
She has put her tooth in her special tooth fairy pillow that Grandma Shirley made for her more than a year ago. Hopefully the tooth fairy will come and make her day! I bet she will!

In the middle of October, she entered an art project into the Statewide school contest called Reflections. She got third place for her age in the visual art category. Here is her Beautiful Butterfly with cutouts and crayon coloring. The theme for the program this year was “Beauty is…” She did the whole project herself. She does keep saying that she wants to be an artist.

6 responses to “Tooth Fairy

  1. Mary says:

    I was asking if it was the 1st tooth she cut. I don't remember everything about all my grandkids… Nice picture and poem.

  2. Carrie says:

    I love her poem – that's adorable!

  3. Congratulations Elizabeth! Caleb just got his first tooth! I guess it's a lot more fun to lose it huh? Nice art project too. I did reflections in 2nd and 3rd grade and won 3rd place too (mine was a story.)

  4. Lisa says:

    Congrats on her first lost tooth! That is an exciting time :) Alexandra is just now working on her 2nd wiggly tooth.Also….I entered the reflections contest when I was a child in California. I composed a piece for the piano and I won. I had no idea that this contest was still taking place. I love her picture! You'll have to frame it!

  5. Julie says:

    Yeah for Elizabeth. Megan keeps asking me if her teeth are loose because kids in her class are losing them. I love her Butterfly picture. That's awesome that she won. Because Uncle Jeff is an Artist and Aunt Tara and Mommy used to be(where is the time?) Megan always says she wants to be an artist and is always trying to do fun crazy crafts.

  6. Jenks Jive says:

    It's so exciting to loose your first tooth! I love the poem and lovely artwork.

What do you think?

