Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Crafting and Reading

on January 15, 2010

That’s what I’ve been up to here without a car during the day. Andy went grocery shopping last night too, so I didn’t even have to do that.
Our book group at church was reading a autobiography about a man who was an FBI agent for 30 years and was also Bishop of four different wards during that time. I just finished it. It’s called Agent Bishop by Mike McPheters. It was fun to read and I liked how he told of his experiences and also included his spiritual promptings. The editing needed more work though. Periods were missing at the end of at least three sentences and there were several misspellings. (A little of that yearbook editor coming out in me.) It was still a pretty good book and worth reading. Part of the time his job was near where I currently live, so that made it even more interesting. Thursday morning I made a wreath. It will be better for Easter, but I made it now. I found all the supplies at Dollar Tree. I bought a round green styrofoam wreath, five bags of those little pompom puff balls in pastel colors (I only needed four), and some ribbon (but I could have used some I already had). I used my glue gun with an old box top underneath and got to work. First I tied the ribbon on the top. I put the knot close to the base of the wreath and then tied it again so it would lay smoothly. Then I got working on the gluing. I made a few rows halfway around the circle and then went back and filled in the rest. Then I turned it over to the back side and did a few more so the green styrofoam wouldn’t show. Vincent helped me by handing me the puffs partway through.
Here’s what the back looked like after I was done.How does it look? I think I need to add something to it, but can’t think of what? Maybe a bow or a bird or a wood painted Easter egg? What do you think?
I can hardly wait to put it up for Easter. Actually, I can’t. It’s up now in my kitchen. I think I’ll decorate for Valentine’s Day now.
Have a fun weekend!

6 responses to “Crafting and Reading

  1. janaemadsen says:

    I like it- I think you should add a bird. good job.

  2. Jenks Jive says:

    Super cute. If you really want to add something to it you could add skinny little ribbons popping out randomly or cute little blossoms tucked in.

  3. Alissa says:

    I like it a lot. And I like Melissa's idea, too, of the ribbons. I may have to do something like that. I'm reading that book – finding it hard to get through. But I'm going to try to make it to the book group this month, so I'm pressing forward…

  4. Kelsey says:

    Super cute! I just might have to make one. Maybe ribbon wrapped around it and then a bow at the bottom? I think it's cute just the way it is though.

  5. Traci says:

    Fabulous! It looks almost like candy. I love it!

  6. linda says:

    Nadell,CUTE wreath!! I think a bow or even a piece of scrap fabric tied on would add the final touch you're looking for maybe? The colors are so fun and eastery! I'm so glad you joined the Easter Roundup! Happy Easter!Linda

What do you think?

