Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Dr Seuss Day

on March 5, 2010

Elizabeth’s school had a Dr Seuss spirit day, so the night before (of course I didn’t think of it sooner!) I tried to gather something up for her to wear. I was about to start painting on a shirt or something (which would have looked awful because I’m NOT a good painter at all!), when I asked Andy. He said she could be Daisy Head Mayzie.
Wikipedia says:
“Daisy-Head Mayzie is a children’s book written by Dr. Seuss, although he did not illustrate it, nor was it published until 1995, after his death.
The book is about a schoolgirl named Mayzie who one da
y suddenly sprouts a bright yellow daisy from her head. It causes alarm in her classroom, family, and town, until an agent makes her a celebrity. The Cat in the Hat is seen serving as the narrator to this story who helps Mayzie to understand her problem and persuade her to go back home. The book has a mini-song titled “Daisy-Head Mayzie” which her classmates chant.”
Just in case you were wondering about that.
I just happened to have a vase of Gerber Daisies from Sara’s wedding centerpiece, so I took the two white ones out and glued them to headbands. I figured that Olivia would like dressing up too. I was right. She is STILL wearing her headband. Elizabeth’s went back in her bag after the morning recess. At least they will very likely have this spirit day again next year and I will be able to pull them out again.
I also happen to have a few dressers with many pink options. In the middle of the night (before I could go to sleep) I pulled out anything that would work for the outfits so they could make their own.
Elizabeth put on pink pants, but said that “wearing all pink just didn’t feel right”. What?! I didn’t understand at all, but whatever. It’s her little silly day anyway. I could NOT pick out which picture was better for this. She is making great silly faces in both pictures. They are eating peanut butter cinnamon toast for breakfast. It’s their favorite. Olivia totally went for it and had the pink shirt, pants, skirt, and even her jacket (not that I play favorites or anything….) Vincent while he was still sporting his pajamas. He had to have a picture taken to you know. (Whenever I say “you know”, I want to use the Minnesotan accent. I’ve never been there, but I will one day.)
We didn’t have anything on the schedule for the whole day other than normal school stuff, chores, and taking care of the kids, so we hung around this morning until 10am when my mom called. She wanted to go to Costco and she was in town, so we met her there and then went to Taco Time. Then I had to go to another few stores and get things for even more family birthdays coming up. I like picking out things, but it’s such a huge relief when I am done trying to figure out what they would like.
By the time we were done, it was time to get Elizabeth from school.
It was also Fun Friday (where the students and anyone else can buy candy and trinkets for a quarter.) Olivia and Elizabeth count down to Fun Friday every month, so this was a big deal in kid world.
When we got home, I started a movie for the girls, laid Vincent down for his nap, arranged all the gifts and packaged them, put away the other things we bought from our grocery list, and then started cleaning. My Friday chore is the bathroom and it’s the one I most dislike, so I have been slacking on it. It was time to do it well. I also skipped mopping the kitchen floor on Tuesday because it was rainy, so I did that along with some laundry. It was a busy afternoon. Olivia helped me clean while Elizabeth pretended to write her thank you notes for her birthday. I typed out what Elizabeth could write on her thank you notes to make it super easy, but she just didn’t want to do it at all, so she would start scribbling all over the page and have to start over. After an hour and a half, she still only had “Dear Uncle” on the page. I thought that she would be able to do three notes a day until she was done, but she finally finished her one note when I finished making tacos for dinner and the chores and Olivia finished making one dog iron bead project and Vincent finished his nap. I’m saying that she took forever to do it. His nap was four hours long. Maybe next time, she will just hurry and do it, but I’m not counting on it. (To those who gave her a present, sorry your thank you notes are so late. Vincent’s are late too, but now we have to wait for Elizabeth to finish hers so I can send them at the same time. It’s a hard thing to make your kids do, but it’s good for them to have that grateful attitude. I WILL NOT have kids who act entitled if I have anything to say about it!)

3 responses to “Dr Seuss Day

  1. Mary says:

    Grandma Crowther called them Bread and Butter letters. Thanks for helping me go to Costco. Dad liked his "cupcakes". He beat me home. Bathrooms aren't my favorites either.Cute kids with their smirks…

  2. janaemadsen says:

    I love the costumes- and your chore list- How can bathrooms be your least favorite? I hate laundry.

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh, I love the daisy head! That looks like so much fun.We had green eggs and ham for dinner for Dr. Seuss' birthday, and the kids loved it!

What do you think?

