Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

First Grader Picnic

on June 11, 2010

Thursday was Elizabeth’s first grade field trip to a local park to play for a few hours and have a picnic. I was able to go and help with games and see the kids. It was a lot of fun. Sara (Andy’s sister) watched Olivia and Vincent for me since siblings were asked not to come. The kids played on the big play equipment, then we ate lunch, and then the four teachers each had a game, so they divided the kids by color on their name tags and I got to help at the duck, duck, goose game.
Elizabeth ended up in the mush pot when she came to our station. One kid in her class kind of took the “pick” part of picnic literally. In all honesty, I have a picture of Elizabeth doing that at the picnic too. Must have been something in the air…
She decided to relax until someone else got tagged.
Giant parachute! Everyone likes this.
They all lined up, held hands and had to move the hoola hoop from one end to the other and back again before the other team.
Intense hoola hooping. She needs to practice more.
The fourth game was Elizabeth’s favorite game, but I didn’t get pictures of her doing it. It was a take the water to a milk jug with a ladle game. They had four teams of five to do it. She really liked that one, even though her team got third place.
I had a lot of fun with her classmates and parents of kids I know. They really have some of the best teachers at her school (and so many other schools too.) Today she gets to do move up day to meet her second grade teacher.

This week was also the first “Parent Involvement” week at the dance studio. Vincent and I joined Olivia’s ballet class. This is her free dance time.We joined Elizabeth’s musical theater class too. Vincent was a little wild in both classes. He just wanted to hang on the bar and pretend to be a monkey. Oh, and in the musical theater class, there were only two kids who came and two parents.
The gallbladder prognosis is that I need to have it taken out. I have an appointment at the end of the month with the surgeon to plan that out. Until then, they told me to eat a low fat diet. I need some more ideas of how to do that.

3 responses to “First Grader Picnic

  1. Jemmett Clan says:

    My sister-in-law just had hers taken out!! I don't have any suggestions for a low fat diet, but I can tell you her recovery was SO FAST!!! She was back to work (she is actually an RN) two weeks later doing EVERYTHING and the dr told her she should could have gone to work after a week!! Hope that it solves your problems!! I know it has helped her a TON!!!

  2. I'm sorry you have to have your gallbladder taken out…no fun! I hope you have a quick recovery and the kids are extra helpful. The dance pictures are darling!

  3. Kim says:

    Looks like a fun picnic! Sorry about your gallbladder surgery….hope you recover quickly!

What do you think?

