Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Renewal

on April 20, 2012

I love springtime!
It makes me want to plant things, play tennis, and have fun outside!
I LOVE watching my lilacs bloom and enjoy the smell they bring to our yard.

I was talking with a friend of mine and she was asking me if I get bored staying at home with my kids (she is a single working mom).  I had to laugh.  I’m very rarely bored.  That got me thinking of all the things I’m so glad that I haven’t had to miss.

-diaper changes (even the smelly ones) and tickles or peek a boo that follow.
-funny things kids say when we are running errands.
-helping at the school in the girl’s classrooms and getting to know their classmates.
-sicknesses at home and not having to figure out what to do with them other than help them get healthy again.
-first steps, first words, first rebelling (even though that is annoying, it means they are learning new things, right?)
-relaxing lunchtime and knowing their favorite foods.
-teaching kids to clean.
-making dinner (most nights).
-storytime in the middle of the day.
-homework help after school.
-trading babysitting for doctor appointments and volunteering.

I’m not saying that being a stay at home mom is the only way to be because I know there are many different paths and everyone can make their own decision about that, but I do know that I’m where I need to be for my family and I’m learning to appreciate the work that I do in my home and with my family.
 (My iris peeking through the leftover leaves.  I love when friends are unloading plants and give them to me.)

Do I get bored?  No.  There’s too much going on to be bored and if there isn’t, then it’s nice to just relax and be with my family or chill and read a book.  Most days there’s so much going on, I feel insane and then the kids add to all the craziness.  Bored.  Never.

2 responses to “Renewal

  1. I must still have a long ways to go, because I get bored. And sometimes I wish I could work instead. But- I'm happy to be home- for a lot of the same reasons as you! and because it's ok if I don't shower until 11:00. :)

  2. Sarah Ray says:

    I know what u mean! It's craziness. I spent 6 years in a very demanding profession that had me working 70 hour weeks and now that I am a SAHM that old job sounds relaxing. Haha. :)

What do you think?

