Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Baby…Tacos!

on May 26, 2012
Today I went to a baby shower for one of my youngest cousins on my dad’s side.
Shannon is due the day after my birthday and on Father’s Day.  What a fun due date!
Here she is with her mom and three of her four sisters.

 Olivia wanted to help me make dinner tonight.  That’s welcome just about anytime, but she hadn’t used the stove yet.  She did a great job cooking the hamburger for our tacos.

 Abby wants to be big so bad!  Olivia put an apron on her too.

 Abby DID have a front row seat to watch Olivia cook.

Olivia also put the refried beans into a bowl to microwave and the olives in a bowl and set the table.
I’ve decided that on someone’s “Special Day” they can help with things for me too.
The Special Day started when the girls would fight over being on Andy’s left side when they were reading books on the couch. Then there was a special spot.  Now the special day also covers family prayers said that day, who gets to pick the first movie of the day, and several other things.  I figure if they are having so many privileges, they might as well be helping me out too. =)
We determine whose day it is with the date.  Elizabeth gets the 1st, 4th, 7th, etc.  Olivia has the 2nd, 5th, 8th, etc.  And Vincent has the 3rd, 6th, 9th, etc.  Soon enough everything will be switched around and Abby will be added.

We also have a system for who gets to strap Vincent’s seat belt in the car (and unbuckle in the purple van because it’s hard to unbuckle those ones.)  Elizabeth has E-ven days (like her E in her name and her birthday that’s on an even day).  Olivia has O-dd days (like the O in her name and her birthday that’s on an odd day.)

We have so many little systems.  Maybe it’s a lot to keep track of, but it’s pretty fair and they know when it’s their turn.

We had a friend over most of the day Saturday while her family made a quick trip to Seattle.  Their car wasn’t big enough to hold all of them with their friend and her daughter to take them back to the airport, so she hung out with us.  Right now they are all settling down in the girl’s room.  The friend is sleeping on the other end of Olivia’s bed.  It’s taken about 45 minutes for them to calm down.  This is why we don’t do sleepovers yet, but she’s going home when her parents get back in a little bit.  They’ve had a lot of fun playing with her today!
Here they are finally asleep!  Olivia’s in the middle even though she’s supposed to be on her own side….I guess her friend is keeping her ground though. =)

Elizabeth came on a walk with me tonight.  We walked 2.24 miles in 45 minutes.  She goes a pretty good pace for me.  (That’s nearly 3 miles an hour).  Normally my friend and I go closer to 3.5 miles an hour, but that’s really pushing me.  This walk was just nice exercise.  (I really didn’t think I’d EVER say that.)  I am really enjoying my evening walks.  And now, I have some extra calories and can have a little snack.

What do you think?

