Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Sewing, Eating, Undressing, Comparing

on February 21, 2013

Monday we had sewing club at our house with some of Olivia’s friends.  They designed dresses and then tried to sew them together with assistance from Elizabeth.

Olivia did the sewing on this dress.  She was trying to make a cape to fit, but it didn’t quite work.  She only wears makeup at home when we aren’t going anywhere else for the night (the more she uses the faster it’s gone!)

Three outfits made.  The other two girls weren’t quite so interested this time.

Elizabeth with her Hawaiian creation.  The skirt is fun tropical print, while the bodice is fleece with a fleece cape and fur/fleece collar.  Elizabeth probably has 25 shirts in her drawer, but wears this Texas one the most (obviously).  It is a regular around here and she probably wears it three times a week.  I’m too good at laundry, I guess.

It was a successful day off of school for the girls.  I made some great banana muffins.  I’d been craving them for weeks, but our hungry kids keep eating all of the bananas! I really do like that they eat, but I wanted some banana bread!
Vincent went to bed a little early on Monday night because he was having fits.  Just before I put Abby to bed, she snuck into his bed and covered herself up.  She thinks she’s ready for a big bed.

Abby started taking off her clothes and diaper while she naps.  Then I get to change her bedding and wash her special bunny again.  It’s a great cycle.  The last time she did it, she took off her whole outfit, took off her diaper, and then put her outfit back on before going back to sleep.  And then she pooped.  It was disgusting.  I cleaned her the best I could and then made her shower.  She didn’t like the shower and hasn’t taken off her diaper since then.  We had a talk about who has permission to take her diaper off and she knows only mommy or daddy can now.  Then Wednesday morning I came out of the shower to find Abby in JUST her diaper and Vincent in just his underwear in the family room pretending to be gorillas.  At least they were still wearing the required clothing… And then they got dressed again.
Monday night Andy helped with a PTA fundraiser for our city’s council of driving dealership cars back to their regular location from a park.  He said he drove a really nice Mercedez and a few other sort of nice cars, along with one car (I assume it was a trade in) that wouldn’t shift to the gear he needed it to and he had to go slow with it and another car that was a hybrid that didn’t have any power at all.  He enjoyed driving the cars, but it took a long time.
Tuesday morning I worked on the last jean quilt for a sister we didn’t get one to last year for her birthday.  The top is now finished and I need to buy some more batting.  It’ll be nice to have that off of my list. Tuesday afternoon was BUSY.  Olivia had her regular ballet at 3:45, Elizabeth had a doctor appointment at 4:10, and we were scheduled to sign papers with someone to refinance our house at 5pm.  I sent Olivia with the boy we usually take to ballet, took Elizabeth to her appointment and we were done and home right when the guy came to our house to sign papers and Olivia was being dropped off.  House refinanced and payment is lower along with our interest rate.  We had a leftover spaghetti and meatball dinner before Andy took Elizabeth to Jujitsu and the other kids had a bath.
After the kids went to bed, I worked on cleaning my craft room.  Things have gotten piled up in there with holidays, stashing things for parties, and more.  I had to sort through the things the girls put in there that didn’t belong and throw out boxes once it was consolidated.  Now it’s all clean and fresh again and I can start crafting for the Ransom Made Design Spring Event April 19th-20th.
Wednesday Vincent had preschool at a friend’s house, so Abby and I dropped him off and headed over to see Grandma Zora.  We accidentally joined a meeting of two of my aunts and an insurance guy planning out Grandma’s estate and inheritance things.  One aunt asked a question to everyone and the insurance guy said it made sense, the other aunt said she was just an inlaw, and I said I wasn’t even supposed to be there!  It wasn’t anything super secret, just legal stuff.  I kept thinking he was almost done and then it took nearly the whole hour we had.  Oh well.  I guess we’ll visit for real with Grandma another day.
We picked Vincent up, went to the library, and then mailed a gift to cousin Jack in Utah before coming home for lunch.  Today was the first day I’ve taken a nap all week!  It was nice.
Wednesday night’s dinner was an easy one.  I made rice (our favorite is the parboil kind because it doesn’t clump together) with chicken, refried beans, corn, and a Campbell’s Skillet Creamy Chipotle packet to go on top of the rice.
Everyone liked it except for Vincent.  He hadn’t even touched it after an hour!  He did end up eating a few bites of rice.

Meanwhile, Abby put him to shame!  She ate SIX (Abby-sized-about the same as Vincent’s) servings!  I guess she really was hungry enough for the apple she asked for as we set the table!

Back to Elizabeth.  Olivia came home with some drawings she made at school with her sewing club buddy for Elizabeth to make.  Elizabeth loves this kind of challenge.  (See she’s wearing a different shirt!  Sometimes I purposefully don’t put the laundry away until after the kids go to school just so she doesn’t wear that Texas shirt…)

At her doctor visit, she was weighed and measured.  At ten years old, she is 56 inches tall.  That’s four feet, eight inches!  She’s only eight inches shorter than I am.  The doctor thinks she’ll pass me by.  She weighs 86 pounds.  She is in the 75th percentile for both height and weight which makes her proportional.  When she laid down on the table so the doctor could listen to her chest and feel her ribs and do the doctor checks, the doctor was impressed with Elizabeth’s six-pack.  She is one strong girl!
Just as a little comparison here is a picture of me when I was almost nine.  My pants were so rad!  Mind you, this was in 1991.

 I got the fancy trading cards that had my stats on the back.  I only weighed 49 pounds at almost nine!  Vincent is already 45 pounds at five years old and my kids are not chubby either.  I was just teeny tiny, probably like Olivia is.

Then in fifth, sixth, and seventh grades I weighed 75 pounds.  Yeah, I didn’t gain any weight at all for three years (except maybe a half pound in seventh grade.)  I used to be a skinny girl.  One day I’ll be skinny again, but I’m sure I’ll still be at least double that!
Tell me how awesome my hat and “uniform” are and yes, I do still have my hat and t-shirt.

One response to “Sewing, Eating, Undressing, Comparing

  1. Mary says:

    You should have a NAP after all of that. I'm glad you don't allow the makeup out of the house. Can you say Painted Doll??? I have too many bananas at my houses ready for making Banana bread. Yours sounded yummy, but I'll just keep mine with the Chocolate chips in them.

What do you think?

