Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

A hair cut

on March 15, 2013

Before you start thinking my kids cut their own hair, I’ll let you know it wasn’t them.
Olivia’s been begging for months to take her to a hair dresser and donate her hair to help make wigs for sick kids.  It’s been long enough, just not in our normal budget to pay for haircuts, so we’ve been putting it off.
Thursday night Olivia came out of the bath with a huge tangle in her hair (really big, like golf ball size in the middle of the back of her head!)  Once we got that out, I asked her if she’d like me to cut her hair.  She asked if I could and I said sure I can.
Here are the before and after pictures.  Her hair was nearly to her waist!  What do you think?

Her short hair will be nice for playing outside when it’s hot, swimming in the summer, and her favorite cartwheeling all over the place.  She doesn’t even have to stop now to get her hair out of her face and did ten cartwheels in a circle last night because she was so excited.
The girls and I all donated our hair three years ago.  Elizabeth donated her hair again last summer.  If you are interested, make sure to check out the requirements and how to do it on the Locks of Love website. 
I took a picture of myself (using the camera timer) Thursday morning because I tried on some old capris that haven’t fit me for years and they fit!  I’m so excited!  Down to the single digit sizes!  Hooray!

I went through my closet and took a lot of clothes out that don’t fit, aren’t flattering, and that I don’t wear to donate and even grabbed a few of the shirts Andy used to wear but hasn’t for several years and donated them.  Two boxes full.
13 more pounds to lose to be at my goal and I’m feeling very confident that I’ll get there!
Andy’s home from Chicago now.  We picked him up at the airport Thursday afternoon.  He has now started a beard so he’ll have one for the pioneer trek we are going on this summer.  He wants to be more authentic.

3 responses to “A hair cut

  1. Mary says:

    WOW call this grandma SHOCKED! Glad she could donate her hair. It will grow back… Nice to get rid of the fat clothes. I think I gained all your lbs. A beard, huh? We'll have to see that.

  2. Rachel says:

    i love the hair. a brand new girl. love the skinny look. keep it up!

  3. […] of us) in 2010, Elizabeth’s second donation in 2012, and Olivia’s second donation in 2013. Look how long her braid was after her shower.  It is a pain to brush and she hates doing it, so I […]

What do you think?

