Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

Goal Update #3

on April 2, 2013

It’s time to update on my goals for the year since March is done.  Here’s how I did in January and February.

NaDell’s Goals for 2013

1. Read books and magazines that inspire me spiritually as well as intellectually.

I’m up to December of 2012 in my Friend and Ensign reading catch up. Just finished the last conference issue and just in time for the next one. I finished the last in the “Emily” series that L.M. Montgomery wrote after her “Anne” books.  I liked the last book the best. Elizabeth and I are going to start our next mother daughter book group book, “Everything on a Waffle” by Polly Horvath soon. Andy and I are at the letter H section in our reading of the Bible Dictionary one page a night. Need to work on more family scripture study time even more.

2. More family exercise. I walked to the school a few times with Vincent riding his trike and Abby in the stroller and Elizabeth and Olivia join me sometimes on fast walks when I need a buddy. No more weight lost this month, but I just have 13 pounds to go, so I need to focus more on what I’m eating and it’ll work out.  More people have been noticing (even a few fit inlaws at dinner!) and I feel pretty good. I started training for some 5K’s I am signing up for this year too.  My routine right now is to run a fifth of a mile and then walk a quarter mile or so.  I’m working on my stamina and I’ll get better as I practice.  It’s already better after doing it three or four times.  I don’t run every day because I need a rest day between.  It’s hard work.  Right now with my walking/running I can do a 5K in 40 minutes.  I’d like to chop ten minutes off that time.  Do you think I can do it?

3. TEMPLE with Andy monthly. Andy went to the Temple this month on a Wednesday night for baptisms with the youth, so I went alone last Saturday morning, but we both went.

4. Catch up my family scrapbooks. In January I scanned old pre-digital scrapbooks. February’s goal was to organize the pictures and papers (invites, cards, etc.) that I already had ready to go. I also renamed the picture files on the computer from the end of 2012 so that when I have them printed, they will have the file name (date) printed on the back (Winkflash does that.)  I still need to work on the pictures from summer 2012 and then I’ll be about ready to print them all. I didn’t do much with all of this in March because I was busy throwing a party and doing other things, but in April, I’ll rename those pictures from last summer and hopefully get started on the scrapbooks from the summer of 2011. How are your goals?

What do you think?

