Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

February Goal Update

on March 2, 2014

January 2014 here.

1. COUPLE-Two $10 Dollar Date Nights a month with Andy.
Andy and I went out to a local Mexican restaurant for dinner one night after I worked all day and it was delicious.  I used some of the points I earned for taking surveys from Valued Opinions to purchase Restaurant.com gift certificates to some area restaurants for our next several dates. (If you want to sign up, I can send you an email and I’ll earn more points, so let me know!)  We also went to a Valentine’s Dance, our ward Chili/Chowder Dinner, and watched a few movies at home together.  I call January’s dates a success.

2. SELF-IMPROVEMENT- Read 100 books.  Check out my list at Goodreads.  I’m on book #16 for the year. Complete list and reviews at the bottom of this post.

3. SELF-EDUCATION- Learn to use Sander Tool I asked for and got from Santa in 2012….
Still haven’t opened it.  January and February are such busy months! Birthday season is past, so we’ll see if we can bust into it in March.

4. FAMILY- Read scriptures four times a week (several nights are busy with mutual and other activities).
Still struggling with this, but trying despite schedules and don’t want to read without everyone there.  I rearranged the ballet/jujitsu schedule so that instead of one thing four nights a week we will have two things two nights a week (one is also mutual night/PTA night).  I think this will make it easier.  I’ve been working several nights a week as well, which cuts into scripture time.  We may need to reevaluate how we do this.

Books read in February 2014:
Week One-
Book number 10 continued. Call the Midwife #3-Finished this book and with it the series.  I’m excited for the new season of the PBS show.

Book 11 for the year.  Clementine-A friend recommended this book (and the others in the series).  I thought it was so fun and great for kids.  It’s about a spunky redhead and her adventures with her family. It’s like a new Ramona.

Week Two-

Book 12 for the year. Legend-This book was great!  I’m not quite sure why every post America book needs to be a trilogy, but I’m excited to read the next two books in the series.

Week Three-

Book 13 for the year. Radiance-This book should have been a fast read because it was less than 200 pages long, but it just never felt like it got going to me.  I really only read it because I bought the second book in the series at a Scholastic book fair for $1.  It’s not that the subject was bad or any of the content, it just seemed to drag a little bit and when it finally got exciting, it was over.  We’ll see if the second one is any good (since I already have it.)

Week Four-

Book 14 for the year. The Book Thief-I actually started this one last November and only got 80 pages in before I had to turn it in at the library.  I finished it on the way to Disneyland.  It’s hard to read a lot of it at once for me because it’s kind of intense.

Book 15 for the year. Austenland-I read this two years ago, but the movie is out now and I wanted to reread it before watching the movie.  Still an excellent book.  I honestly couldn’t remember what happened so I’m glad I reread it before watching the movie.

Book 16 for the year. The Candy Shop War-This is our mother-daughter book group book.  Elizabeth read it on her own, so I read it on the way home from Disneyland and finished it just an hour or so away from home.  Exciting to read and fun.

7 responses to “February Goal Update

  1. […] January 2014 here. February 2014 here. […]

  2. […] here. February here. March […]

  3. […] here. February here. March here. April […]

  4. […] here. February here. March here. April here. May […]

  5. […] here. February here. March here. April here. May here. June […]

  6. […] here. February here. March here. April here. May here. June here. July […]

  7. […] here. February here. March here. April here. May here. June here. July here. August […]

What do you think?

