Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

September Goal Update

on October 4, 2014

January here. February here. March here. April here. May here. June here. July here. August here.

1. COUPLE-Two $10 Dollar Date Nights a month with Andy.
Andy and I went out to Costa Vida this month.  Yum.  It’s always nice to be out by ourselves.

2. SELF-IMPROVEMENT- Read 100 books.  Check out my list at Goodreads.  I have finished 63 books this year. I’m now 13 books behind schedule.  Wow.  Life is so busy (and I read a few long, boring books this month!)
(Complete book list and mini reviews at the bottom of this post.)

3. SELF-EDUCATION- Learn to use Sander Tool I asked for and got from Santa in 2012…. Check. Used it a few months ago.  It doesn’t do what I needed it to do.  Need a bigger one to finish a job. Not worrying about this anymore.

4. FAMILY- Read scriptures four times a week (several nights are busy with mutual and other activities).
We have adjusted this goal to learning the Articles of Faith as a family.  We take a new one each week and say it before prayers and meals.  We are still reciting the ones we already learned too and it’s working.  We have ten all memorized and have three more left to work on.  We took a few weeks to review the ones we know to make sure everyone knows them.  We’ll start Article of Faith #11 Sunday.

Books read in September 2014:

Week One-
Book 61 for the year: The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
Borrowed this from a friend so I could finish it for the fun Lunch and Lit group I’m in with fun friends, but I didn’t quite get done in time. It was long, but it was written as part of a literary magazine that came out in installments, so there was plenty of suspense and who-dun-it fun. Borrowed it from a friend and finished it just after the lunch group.
It’s so interesting to read well written mysteries.

Week Two-
Book 62 for the year: One Nation: What We Can All Do to Save America’s Future by Ben Carson
I enjoyed how he started each chapter with a scripture verse.
I liked how he broke down things that are not working in our country and ways they could be fixed and real things that people can do to fix them.

Week Three and Four and Five-
Book 63 for the year: The Haunted Mesa by Louis L’Amour
Another mysterious book.  Kept me guessing (but it took FOREVER to read because life is busy and it was not my optimum style of book.)

I don’t know if I’ll make this 100 book goal…We’ll see with all that’s going on in life right now.

What do you think?

