Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

April 2017 Part Two: 2 Weddings and a Funeral + Reunion

on May 1, 2017

I’m super sad that these went together.  Like shocked and still cannot think very hard about that last one without crying, but I’m grateful for the beautiful reminders of the blessings of the Temple Sealing promises that helped me so much this month.

Andy’s cousin on his mom’s side was married Easter Weekend in the Columbia River Temple (a cousin’s son was married the previous day in San Diego as well).

Congratulations to Sammi and Donald! (We weren’t actually there when they came out because we had to hurry to the Easter Egg Hunt for our ward).

I did get a nice picture of Andy and I in front of our Columbia River Temple though.

There was SO much fun dancing at the reception.  Three of our kids danced nearly the whole time.
Andy and I joined them too.
Felt pretty good to be out there dancing!
So many people having so much fun doing big group dances.

Andy’s cousin on his dad’s side was married in Logan, Utah Temple the following weekend. My mom was kind enough to come over and hang out with the kids for Friday night, Saturday, and Sunday so we could get away without the kids. She blogged a little about it here.

I left the kids each a little list of chores to do while Grandma was here.  They didn’t do much of it, but they got a good report from Grandma.  (I made them finish the chores over the next few days after school.)

Andy and I went over to the Logan Temple early on Saturday morning to do a session before the sealing.
Gary and Tricia have eight children.  This is their picture with ALL of their kids, spouses, and grandkids so far.
Congratulations to Jason and Jennie!
We drove home the Sunday after the wedding.  It was pretty rainy during parts of the drive, but Andy and I had a good time visiting and singing along with the songs on the stereo.

One of my sweet cousins who was only 25 years old passed away due to complications with pneumonia.  I’m still confused about how that happens to someone so young and full of life, but regardless, it happened and her husband and three beautiful daughters under five years old are left without their wife and mother.

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, people sitting, child and stripes

One time our Crowther family went bowling. I can’t remember why or when, but I know we had a good time.  I always had fun anytime we were able to hang out with our cousins.  Picture below with Brenda and Shannon (I’m that young one in the striped shirt.)

Shannon was so talented.  She excelled in sports and music and was an excellent seamstress.  She made her own wedding dress and also made dresses for her daughters on many occasions.  These sweet dresses were made for Easter just a few weeks ago using the same fabric for each, but a different pattern. I think these girls are so beautiful and sweet and my heart aches for them.

We had a Crowther reunion planned for the last weekend in April since last November.  We met at a local park and ate lunch and the kids played and played while everyone caught up with each other.  One of the benefits of having 25 grandchildren in your family is always having someone with a kid the same age as your kid.
One of my cousins brought water bottle rockets.  Elizabeth helped out the younger kids by holding the bottle down while someone else pumped so it could fly farther, even though that meant she had most of the water shot at her too.
Vincent on the pump.
An audience.
Abby made good friends again with Shannon’s little girl.  We had them over on Olivia’s birthday last summer while their mom went to a college class and then hung out longer at a local park.  I asked the two older girls if they remembered coming to play at our house and at the rainbow park and they both acted like they remember.  I really hope they remember things from this stage in their lives.

There were open tennis courts at the park too.  That kept the kids busy.
There are 25 grandkids on my dad’s side.  18 are pictured.  One was at a ball game for a child just a few miles away by the time we took the picture.  Others weren’t able to get away this weekend.
But we did leave a space for Shannon, who I’m sure was there in spirit.  We lined up in age order, just like old times.
April 30th is the day Grandpa and Grandma Crowther were married which is why this weekend was chosen. Picture of everyone at the Crowther reunion.  Quite a crew and this probably isn’t even half of our big family now.  We always miss those who aren’t able to make it though.
Just for fun, I cropped this picture my aunt took of a group because I like how cute my husband is.
I have LOVED being in the Temple often this month.  Twice for weddings and two others for ordinances.  In the midst of trials, the spirit of the Temple can bring great joy and peace.  I need to spend more time there.
One response to “April 2017 Part Two: 2 Weddings and a Funeral + Reunion

  1. Mary C in WA says:

    April was FULL to the Brim with way too much and ending with the shocked death of Shannon has me in a funk. It’s unimaginable to me, but it’s a part of LIFE. Thankful for the blessings of the Temple. Sorry Grandma dropped the ball on the Chore chart. I didn’t look at it really. Just looked at the one on the fridge.

What do you think?

