Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

January 2022

on February 17, 2022

Vincent turns 14 this year and was ordained a teacher in the Aaronic Priesthood this afternoon. Andy’s parents joined us for church and an early dinner. My parents weren’t able to make it this time.

Abby decided that she wants to read the whole Old Testament this year. She started Sunday morning while waiting for church to start. I did the math and figured out she needs to read 3.25 pages a day to finish, but told her she should probably read 5 pages a day so if she has to miss a few days, she’ll still make her goal. After her first five pages in Genesis, Andy and I asked her to tell us what she read and she retained a lot of it! Then she drew this picture of Adam and Eve in the garden with the serpent around the tree, God talking to Adam and Eve and the lion and lamb “cuddling”.

Today’s reading prompted discussion about marrying cousins and whether “meat” means meet or food. We’ll see how she does, but every verse, chapter, and discussion is a step in the right direction.

It snowed enough that we closed the store for a day. It was kind of nice to stay home, read, and hang out with my family all day and not worry about work.

Happy 65th birthday to my mom! Thanks for sharing the things you love with us! Family, music, temples, and, of course, quilting!

I know this picture seems random, but I saw this umbrella stroller in a thrift store and had to take a picture. All of our kids used a stroller exactly like this. It was less than $15 when Elizabeth was little and the hand-me-down stroller someone gave us was just too big for our Civic’s trunk. Over time, the canopy broke off, but it was the best stroller. When Abby was born I decided to buy a new one and we used it once before the seams were already starting to fray, so I returned it and went back to this trusty stroller that’s been through many, many miles with our family. If I was even more sentimental, I would have bought this, but I left it there for another family to enjoy.

I guess I liked that snow day too much. We got COVID and had a week to hang out at home until we were symptom free and got negative tests.
Mostly we just have sore throats, cough, and aches, but my senses of taste and smell disappeared for a week or so. It’s so weird. Olivia was our ‘last man standing’ until she tried to go to school for finals that Tuesday and needed a test to stay since our family has it and she had a positive test.

Our household had all negative tests at the end of the week! It was a bit of a long week hanging out at home, but I read a lot and rested and hung out with my family and I can’t complain about any of those things. I was grateful for those who dropped things off for us and checked up on us.

Abby’s 11! She’s so enthusiastic, friendly, kind, and a little wild. She’s always been able to talk to anyone and is very good at compliments. Happy birthday, Abby!

Olivia went to a fun friend’s Tolo dance last night. I love the skirt she picked out at Sweet Salt Clothing. So cute. She had a great time!

Fun fact: Her date’s dad and I were on a double date for Homecoming my senior year (he went with one of my friends.)

Vincent’s 14! He’s a great kid. Patient with his sisters (most of the time), helpful, and funny. He loves music and reading and games. He’s our “little buddy”-I wish that nickname had stuck better- and we love him!

We are halfway through our birthday season. Abby’s was 6 days ago and Elizabeth’s is 6 days from now.

On the last Sunday in January Elizabeth led our Sunday family gospel discussion as we talked about Noah’s ark. She told us each to make a boat out of one price of paper and 3 pieces of tape. As we built them it was decided to see if they could float (or at least not sink). Some lasted longer than others due to their design and some lasted so long, we added coins to weigh them down and two still ended in a tie after 40 minutes! (Mine and Andy’s).
I was able to visualize Noah’s ark a little more today at church when the lady I teach primary with shared that the ark was about the size of two of the church building we meet in end-to-end.
Luckily, Noah had instructions from Heaven to build his boat to withstand the floods with all of his family and animals.
We all sometimes have those things that weigh us down, but as we build the best way we can, we can withstand the floods and storms that come.


What do you think?