Ransom Family

Random Ramblings and Happenings

10 Things I Love About…

on October 5, 2011

…Andy going on a trip for work. He went to the other side of the state like he did last month.

1. I love that he has a good job and that so many people are demanding his presence. That’s great job security!

2. I love sleeping right in the middle of our bed and I sleep WELL (for the short amount of time I’m actually in bed).

3. I love making dinners I know he doesn’t like to have our kids try things. Last night I made Eggplant Parmesan with spaghetti (someone gave it to us) and Elizabeth thought it tasted like chicken, Abby was sad when she was done with a bite and was crying for more, and Vincent was force-fed a little, but ate the spaghetti (Andy likes spaghetti, not the eggplant though) and Olivia didn’t like it at all (she ran to the bathroom afterwards and said it went right through her…. a little dramatic that one), but they all tried it and three out of four isn’t bad.

4. I can stay up even later/earlier than normal doing crafty things to get ready for this weekend.

5. I only have to make two lunches. This really isn’t that big of a deal, but I get put different things for the kid’s lunches.

6. I can watch my chick flick movies while doing crafts instead of listening to video games or Mystery Science Theater 3,000 (although it’s funny sometimes, it’s mostly just annoying to me).

7. I get all the hugs from the kids and listen to them telling Andy goodnight on the phone.

8. I get to read at bedtime. Last night we read a book called, “Jump” that each kid took turns reading. Elizabeth read the hardest page, then Olivia read the next that was mostly the same each time, then Vincent read “Jump”. I thought it was fun.

9. I love that I’m the first to shower in the morning so the tub isn’t wet when I step in.

10. I love when he comes home again and that he takes great care of us!

I don’t feel like a single mom when he’s gone. I know that they have to actually do everything, not just the kids. They have to worry about work, daycare, bills, and everything else. I don’t compare myself to them by calling myself a single mom for three days. Sure, I had to make extra arrangements for the kids when I had to go to the PTA meeting last night that I normally wouldn’t have to and we watched a movie for FHE instead of doing our regular stuff, but I am able to be home with my kids and for that, I’m just grateful. I know I CAN do things on my own, which is why I’m even more appreciative when he’s home and helps with everything. He normally does the reading to the kids at bedtime (but I read a little more with the girls when he’s done some nights) and even watches Abby in the family room if I need a break or switches the laundry or makes the older kids go to sleep or clears the table. I sure married a great guy!


One response to “10 Things I Love About…

  1. Mary says:

    no wonder you wanted me to come Monday night…You didn't say that Andy was gone. Sorry it didn't work out again for me to come this week. Life happens while we're having FUN!

What do you think?